Rachelle Linner writes in a recent Commonweal of St. Blog’s Parish, a loose affiliation of Catholic bloggers… After describing the makeup of the Catholic blogosphere, she says: Curiously, women reigious are absent from St. Blog’s. An absence explained by the conservative bent of many blogs, or just a function of statistics?

This week I sent in a request to St. Blog to be included. (Oh, did you know I was a Catholic sister?) I received permission and instructions how to put the parish’s link on my page. Alas, I don’t have the “fullness” of blogdom and can’t put such links on my page. When I can, I will. I don’t know of any other Catholic sisters with blogs either…. Hmmm, I’m going to have to check into that.

Thanks to Jack Smith who writes for Godspy and the Catholic San Francisco for telling me about Rachelle’s article.

Meanwhile, I love how she ended her column:

I’ll let Flannery O’Connor have the last word: “To have the church be what you want it to be would require the continuous miraculous meddling of God in human affairs, whereas it is our dignity that we are allowed more or less to get on with those graces that come through faith and the sacraments and which work through our human nature….We can’t understand this but we can’t reject it without rejecting life. Human nature is so faulty that it can resist any amount of grace and most of the time it does.” If only she’d had a blog.

Who? Flannery O’Connor or Grace?

