wouldn’t you know it, the day that the temperature in San Francisco goes a-soaring, 85 degrees at 3:00 p.m., is the day the air conditioner conks out in the Pastoral Center where I work. Whew. Made me think of poetry for some reason and so here’s a tidbit from my favorite Poetry Site (Poetry Daily)

They don’t drink much, don’t stay out late at night
because their lives take place in the sun,
and the old will say that’s why they lost the war:
they missed the sun and the food, they missed
cruising the magnificent piazzas
calling Ciao bella! and Ma che cazzo dici!

from Young Italians, a poem by Douglas Goetsch

I’m going to hear Sarah Vowell tonight at the City Arts and Lectures series. I discovered Sarah Vowell last November in a bookstore – just brousing…. I’m a fan of the essayists. The book jacket blurb included:

Her essays confront a wide range of subjects, themes, icons, and historical moments: Ike, Teddy Roosevelt, and Bill Clinton; Canadian Mounties and German filmmakers; Tom Curise and Buffy the Vampire Slayer; twins and nerds; the Gettysburg Address, the State of the Union and George W. Bush’s inauguration.

Ah, you guess what hooked me. Now I want to be Sarah Vowell’s new best friend.

