.flickr-photo { border: solid 1px #000000; }.flickr-frame { float: left; text-align: center; margin-right: 15px; margin-bottom: 15px; }.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }

Mexico2005-608
Mexico2005-608,
originally uploaded by opxphile.

Yesterday was the feast of St. Dominic. I spent most of it in airports (Detroit, Pittsburgh, San Francisco) which maybe is appropriate for a follower of Dominic who walked thousands of miles in his own day to bring the Gospel to others. I’d like to think I bring the Gospel to others, but really, usually find that they are the ones preaching the word to me.

This weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to witness the profession of perpetual vows of my friend and sister Lorraine. Since she is dealing with the impending loss of her dear stepfather, her willingness to go forward with her vows is particularly touching. Her mother and stepfather could not be there and yet they were, in a real way, in spirit as present as if they had been seated beside her in St. Catherine Chapel.

Sister Lorraine’s willingness to say yes even in the midst of loss and longing has been a powerful witness for me. May her days ahead be blessed with a felt presence of God, somewhere in the pain and sorrow and the hope for the future.

(I took this photo of frescoes at a former OP monastery in Tepotzlan, Morelos, Mexico – I stumbled on it while going to mass in the adjoining church.)

