Paul_anka_bw
Yesterday I woke up with the song my senior class (’83) chose as it’s graduation theme: Paul Anka’s The Times of Your Lives ("Do you remember?") humming thru my mind.  Which still strikes me as an odd, odd choice for a group of 17-18 year olds to make in the year Seven and the Ragged Tiger, Do You Really Want to Hurt Me and Electric Avenue were all released or won awards. Meanwhile, my thoughts turned to the choice we made for the Senior Prom Theme Song: Stairway to Heaven.  (um, how many senior proms had this theme, I ask you?)

Which made me think of the music I was listening to at 18.  In silent and musical rebellion from my brothers, who listened to Led Zeppelin (booming in the basement) and the Rolling Stones (pounding upstairs), I was deeply loyal to those oh so hip artists, Barry Manilow and Olivia Newton-John.  Which of course led me to recall that my "upstairs" brother (of the pounding RStones) had recently handed off to me a used CD of Houses of the Holy (a LZ ablbum, actually) which apparently was a duplicate for him and to which I had not yet listened. 

So, I put it in and turned it on and oh, there I was: in the kitchen, stomping on the floor, turning up the radio as I washed the dishes, fuming that the noise from the basement was drowning out Too Shy.  Ah, those were the days.  And actually, the LZ "noise" is pretty  good.  Interesting what you can discover as an adult. ( but, huh?: "I saw a lion he was standing alone with a tadpole in a jar.")

My brother (of the basement) is coming to visit this weekend.  I’m hoping and praying we can connect as the adults we are and not the children we were.  (I wrote a bit about our relationship here once).  I’d really glad he’s visiting Mom as I think it’s important for both of them.

And so we close with a thought from Plant and Page, 

 "Yes, there are two paths you can go by, but in the long run,

there’s still time to change the road you’re on."
 
                   

