The Knitting Olympics Athletes Pledge

I, a knitter of able hands and quick wits, to hereby swear that over
the course of these Olympics I will uphold the highest standard of
knitterly excellence.

I will be deft of hand and sure of pattern, I will overcome troubles of
yarn overs and misplaced decreases. I will use the gifts of
intelligence and persistence (as well as caffeine and chocolate) and I
will execute my art to the highest form, carrying with me the hope for
excellence known to every knitter.

I strive to win. To do my best, and to approach the needles with my own
best effort in mind, without comparing myself to my fellow knitters,
for they have challenges unique to them.

While I engage in this pursuit of excellence and my own
personal, individual best, I also swear that I will continue to engage
with my family in conversation, care for my pets, speak kindly with
those who would ask me to do something other than knit, and above all,
above every stitch thrown or picked, above every cable, every heel
stitch, every change of colour, I swear this:

That I will remember that this is not the real Olympics, that
I’m supposed to be having fun and that my happiness and self-worth ride
not on my success….

but on my trying.

Let the games begin!

It’s official!  I’ve cast on 48 stitches for the first of two socks – my first pair.  I may post pictures as they develop.  I may not.  I’m using Ann Norling’s Adult Basic Socks pattern and Moda Dea "Sassy Stripes" yarn on size 3 double point needles.  (and even though the sight of these needles cause my mother to shudder, "You’re knitting with four needles?", I continue to knit in her presence.)  -As if I could stop-. (ever.)

Checke out the other 4000 knitters who are participating in the Knitting Olympics.  That’s quite a few more than the 2500 (or so) athletes competing in the "real" olympics. 

Check out Olympic Knitters on Frappr!

When a good idea comes along, good people jump on board.  What is the next good idea?

