Some days, at the end of it, you can’t do much but take a nap and surf the web.  This week, that’s today. 

We had a campus ministers retreat today which went very well.  I really enjoyed preparing for it and gathering the materials for the sharing that we would be doing.  I enjoyed making the prayer and activity handout we’d be using.  I enjoyed leading us through some of the activities which were designed to help us get to know one another better and develop our ability to communicate with one another in a more healthy and positive way.  I enjoyed the responses from the campus ministers.  I enjoyed the location which was lovely and open and peaceful.  I enjoyed being with the folks I was with.  I enjoyed the lunch and the coffee and the relish with which the others enjoyed their "bag o treats". 

And it was a lot of work.  A Lot Of Work.  And the most work of all was letting go and letting God and trying to "stay out of the way" of the Spirit working in our midst. 

So here are a few of the bits I found in the land of blog as I surfed this evening.

blogosphere bits:

[he] left us with a quote of James Baldwin: "Be careful what set your heart on, for it will surely be yours." and One thing she is devastatingly on target about is the need to pray, pray, pray. Magdalene’s Musings


kula talks about truth and tells a fable about the beginning of time.
g*d wanted to give “truth” to humankind, but it was so sacred that he
did not want to give it to one group of people, so he threw it to earth
and it shattered into many pieces — so everyone had a part of truth,
but not a corner on the market.
being heidi

And then I unwound myself and moved on with my day. It wasn’t until
I began writing this blog post that I consciously recognized the
humor in this little cellphone story. When I’m not plugged-in to my
source, my batteries run dry, sometimes faster than I expect.
In retrospect, finding my cellphone low on juice yesterday morning
seems like God winking at me…and probably sighing ruefully at me when
I used the experience as an excuse to follow my well-intentioned
instincts toward overwork, instead of as a reminder that might
point me in the right direction. 
Velveteen Rabbi

