Or everything you never needed to know about me as a knitter.  🙂

The Knit-Geek Questionnaire.  Created by and original here

1.        What’s your worst habit relating to your knitting?  – worst?  is there such a thing as a bad habit related to knitting?  Well, if I must chose, maybe that I don’t mind imperfections in my finished products.

2.        In what specific ways does your knitting make you a better person? Knitting grounds me, invites me to be more attentive, keeps me focused and allows me to use time more efficiently.  It is a meditative practice which fosters my prayer life, connects me to other people and gives me something to share with others.

3.        How might you or your life be different if you were suddenly unable to knit?  Eek.  Could I crochet? 

4.        If money were no object, what one yarn, and what one tool or gadget would you run out and buy first? Yarn: Prism Cool Stuff or Wild Stuff .  (I’ve just always wanted to try it.)  Tool: Blue Sky Five Inch Double Point Needles size 0

5.
What knitting technique or project type are you most afraid of (if
any)? What, specifically, do you fear will happen when you try it?  Steeking.  Get real.

6.        Who is/are your knitting hero(es), and why? The one and only – Elizabeth Zimmerman.  Also, my mom

7.        Do you consider knitting, for you personally, a mostly social activity, or a mostly solitary activity?  right now, mostly solitary.  I knit, however, wherever I am, so in that way it’s social.  I don’t however have a knitting club, group, or companions right now.  Someday, perhaps.

8.
Is there a particular regional tradition in knitting that you feel
strongly drawn toward (e.g., Fair Isle, Scandinavian, Celtic, Orenburg
lace)? Any theories as to why it calls to you?  Can’t say that there is.

9.        If you were a yarn, which yarn would you be?  Don’t know.  If I could be one… it’d be beaverslide wool.  I just find that so soft, honest, affordable, and comforting.  Also, the folks there are so nice.

10.     Some statistics:
(a)     How many years have passed since you FIRST learned to knit?  Five
(b)    How many total years have you been actively, regularly knitting (i.e., they don’t have to have been in a row)? Five
(c)     how many people have you taught to knit? I’ve taught about twenty… but those folks, over time, have taught over fifty.  I love teaching others to knit.  The gift that keeps on giving. 
(d)    Roughly what percentage of your FOs do you give away (to anyone besides yourself, i.e., including your immediate family) 90 percent.  Love giving the stuff away. 

11.     How often do you KIP (knit in public)? i.e., once a week, once a month, etc. Where do you do it? All the time… At least several times a week.  I knit in the car (stop lights), I knit when waiting in line – the Costco one goes pretty slow sometimes.  I knit at meetings and conferences because it helps me stay focused on the topic/speaker.   

12.     If a genie granted you one hour to stitch-n-bitch with any one knitter, living or dead, who would you choose and why?  EZ – because she’s that interesting.

13.     What aspect or task in knitting makes you most impatient? Finishing.

14.     What is it about knitting that never lets you get bored with it? The infinite potential and possibilities.

15.
Describe how and where you most often do your knitting – where do you
sit, what is going on around you, what tools do you use and how are
they (dis)organized?  The most common place is in the living room, in front of the TV.  I like to knit with other stimuli. 

16.     Which one person is the recipient of more of your knitting than any other?  Mom.

17.     What’s the oddest thing about your knitting, or yourself as a knitter? I’m pretty passionate about it.  I learned how kind of recently and I have gotten pretty good pretty fast.  It’s kind of surprising.

18.     What do you see yourself knitting – if anything – twenty years from now? Whatever I can.

19.
If you were stranded on a deserted island and could have only ONE SKEIN
of yarn, which yarn would it be and what would you do with it?  Serious lace weight yarn that could be knit on and on and on.

20.
If you were allowed to own only one knitting-related book, which would
it be? (you’d be free to browse others, but you couldn’t keep them)  Sensational Knitted Socks.

21.     Is knitting the new yoga? Why or why not?  No.  There’s no need for a new yoga.  The old yoga is perfect as the yoga. Knitting is the new, old, now… knitting.

