on to the Five.

Those of us who are in the United States have
just been through quite a topsy-turvy election. During the campaign we
heard a fair amount about red states and blue states, when in fact most
of us live in some shade of purple. And so… a lighter look at those
confounding colors:

1. Favorite red food – my best friend’s spaghetti, made with turkey, cappelini and that oh so yummy red sauce.

2. Tell us about the bluest body of water you’ve ever seen in person. That would be Lake Powell
in Arizona.  The blue sky, the blue lake, the clear water… the dream of a 20 year-old me.

3. It’s movie rental time: Blue Planet, The Color Purple, or Crimson Tide?  How bout The Man with One Red Shoe?  Or Mickey Blue Eyes? 

4. What has you seeing red these days?  Well, the other day I learned that someone had used my ministry email address and my name to post a comment on a newspaper discussion board – a comment that I did not make, would not make and had no knowledge of whatsoever.  Because the comment was a negative one about the community in which I currently minister, it was of great concern to many, many people.  Additionally, it was comment that exhibited negatively stereotypical qualities of nuns.  First of all – it’s w-r-o-n-g to impersonate another person.  Secondly, hey, that’s just rude!  Grrrrrr.

5. What or who picks you up when you’re feeling blue?  Usually music can cheer me.  A good laugh, a good book, a good pizza, a good friend, a good sunset or just plain goodness.

