Black Friday Five

Reverendmother here…

My
husband accompanied my brother this morning to stand on line for a
Nintendo Wii. They headed out at oh-dark-thirty this morning but were,
sadly, thwarted. There were 30 people in line for 6 units. They are
trying to be philosophical about it–"That’s the most I was willing to
do, so I’m OK with it… imagine the people who waited for hours!" my
brother said.

So this is a "Black Friday" Five (aka Buy Nothing Day) in honor of the busiest shopping day of the year:

1. Would you ever/have you ever stood in line for something–tickets, good deals on electronics, Tickle Me Elmo?

Not so much with the standing in line. At least I can’t remember doing it.  I can totally imagine me doing so, however.  Except, of course, if it starts early in the a.m.  No way, hosay!

2. Do you enjoy shopping as a recreational activity?  Why yes, I do, thank you for asking.  I used to have a sticker up in my room (back when I put stickers up as "art", that said: "Look Honey, sometimes I buy things I don’t need.  It keeps America working!"  – And while I am way more deliberate about what I buy, I am still me – thank goodness for that vow of poverty.  Otherwise, oh, boy, I’d be in so much trouble.  I’d have some "splaining" to do. 

3. Your favorite place to browse without necessarily buying anything.  The bookstore, of course.  No, wait, the yarn store, of course.  No, wait, the garden department of any home store…

4. Gift cards: handy gifts for the loved one who has everything, or cold impersonal symbol of all that is wrong in our culture?  Totally handy gifts.  Some, really, are just not great at articulating what they desire; additionally, some of us love the thrill of the hunt and a gift card allows us to hunt, track, grab and go.

5. Discuss the spiritual and theological issues inherent in people coming to blows over a Playstation 3.  Um, what is a play station?  I think this is one of those things where you need teenagers to explain the term….  sadly, (uh, huh,) I haven’t got any teen agers yet.  However, I can say, coming to blows over any shopped item is over the line.  Coming to blows over anything, I think, is over the line.

