Images
Friday Five: Adventually

Although
it comes as late as it can this year, Advent is upon us. Some of us
grew up observing it, while to others (including this childhood
Baptist) it was even more foreign than Lent! Over the past twenty
years, I have grown to love Advent as a season of preparation, although
as a pastor I find it harder to practice it at home than at church,
even when the church might prefer I make it the other way ’round.

Here are five questions about Advent for this first of December:

1) Do you observe Advent in your church?

Why, yes, we do.  I’ve not been to my current local parish long enough to know how this new home celebrates Advent, but I’m quite sure we will. When I was a liturgy volunteer, years ago, Advent was my favorite season for which to plan and prepare.  So much one can do with greens, a few blue lights, a few white lights, some gorgeous candles and a plethora of ribbon!

2) How about at home?

Yes, I usually use an Advent reflection booklet for my prayer and light the Advent candles throughout the season.  When I am living in our local living communities, I definitely love our use of the Advent wreath in the prayer room/chapel for daily prayers.

3) Do you have a favorite Advent text or hymn?

Last year I discovered the book Watch For The Light: Readings for Advent and Christmas.  I love it.  It’s not a scriptural text, but readings from a variety of authors on Adventium themes.  I do love the O Antiphons as well.

4)
Why is one of the candles in the Advent wreath pink? (You may tell the
truth, but I’ll like your answer better if it’s funny.)

Hmmmm… truth – the joy we are awaiting has already arrived.  This, to me, is the best part of Advent – the already/not yet part. Born unto us, a child.  Mostly, though, I’m quite sure it’s because Mary just got tired of all that blue…  (and she really had hoped for a girl.)

5) What’s the funniest/kitschiest Advent calendar you’ve ever seen?

I’ve not seen that many, actually.  I have one my niece bought me for this year from World Market.  It’s got little bits of chocolate in it. Hey, I gotta go check out December 1!

