Fa-la-la-la-la, La Friday Five via revgalblogpals

Reverendmother here… those of you who read my blog know I have a love-hate relationship with the 24/7 Christmas music we’re subjected
treated to in stores and radio (in the U.S. at least). It gets too
sentimentally sticky-sweet sometimes, yet I find myself unable to
resist it. Nothing says "it’s Christmas" to me like John Denver and
Rolf the Dog singing "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas." So…

Here’s the thing: I really, really like Christmas music.  So, this here Friday five is H A R D for me.  But, I’ll try…

1. A favorite ‘secular’ Christmas song.

Baby, It’s Cold Outside (I like the Vanessa Williams version, actually), and Christmas Wrapping by the Waitresses.

Bonus – Favorite Non-Christmas Christmas songs: Home by Another Way, James Taylor and The Rebel Jesus by Jackson Browne.

2. Christmas song that chokes you up (maybe even in spite of yourself–the cheesier the better)

"Bless This child" sung by Vesta on Mother and Child: A Christmas Celebration of Motherhood.  I have a niece this makes me think of each time I hear it.  And I think what a wonderful world it would certainly be if we could all feel towards all children the way the "mother" in this song does. 

3. Christmas song that makes you want to stuff your ears with chestnuts roasted on an open fire.

Wham’s "Last Christmas": It is soooo bad… And it gets played sooooo much.  Perhaps I’m a stickler, but really if he gave his heart away last Christmas, didn’t he think the person to whom he is singing (and to whom he would give his heart away again – "if you touched me again.") was a special person, why the heck did he give his heart away to that person in the first place!  Logical fallacies in music make me nuts.

4. The Twelve Days of Christmas: is there *any* redeeming value to that song? Discuss.

Well, in fourth grade (Bismarck Elementary School, Bismarck, IL), I got to play four calling birds (of course I was really only one bird, but I represented all four!)  And that was cool.  In high school (Bismarck-Henning High School…) one of my gang of friends, Allan, had his partridge in a pear tree costume (and it still fit) and we used it in a movie we made about Superman fighting a giant partridge, or bird, or bird like villain… I can’t remember which.  That was cool too.
Oh, and when the Muppets sing this with John Denver – pricelss.  (badumbump!)

5. A favorite Christmas album

Cris Williamson: Snow Angel

All of the songs are beautiful and Williamson’s voice is a revelation as well.  There’s a poem, attributed to Carl Sandburg on the liner notes, called Star Silver which is so lovely.  "The silver of one star plays cross wise on pine green…"  I’ve not been able to find the whole, original poem, but the use of it here, with the medley of It Came Upon A Midnight Clear and We Three Kings.  Just beautiful.

