Festive Foods Friday Five (via revgalblogpals).

Well
friends, we’ve covered advent, music, and movies/TV–but we here at F5
HQ would be remiss if we did not acknowledge that quintessential
holiday topic… fooooooooood.

1. Favorite cookie/candy/baked good without which, it’s just not Christmas.

4x3_dipped_chocoloate_cookie_with_bowl
Frosted sugar cookies.  I’m the keeper of this tradition.  I have about 40 different cookie cutters – some of which were my grandmother’s and most of which were handed down to me via my own mother.  In the past five or so years I’ve hosted a Christmas baking party for friends and some young adults (mostly women, but not only) at the convent where I most recently lived.  We’d each bake at least one different kind of cookie and at the end of the party all were encouraged to take many of them home, to work, to parties, etc.  Alas, this year, I’m not living in the convent with the amazingly large and two-ovened kitchen.  Sigh.  Also, the time has gotten totally away from me and so – while it will of course still be Christmas, there are no homemade sugar cookies to share and none of the other 10 types either.  No wonder it’s been hard to get in the spirit this season!

2.
Do you do a fancy dinner on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, both, or
neither? (Optional: with whom will you gather around the table this
year?)

As a matter of fact we don’t do fancy hardly ever.  Thanksgiving maybe.  But Christmas is more a grazing holiday for my fambly.  We will, however, have a nice dinner – this year we’re having chicken and dumplings, salad, green bean casserole (ILOVEIT), mashed potatoes, corn, rolls and desert.  My brother, sister-in-law, niece1, niece2, nephew, sister and her boyfriend and a friend of my mom’s will be joining us (mom and me) this year.

3. Evaluate one or more of the holiday beverage trifecta: hot chocolate, wassail, egg nog.

always think I like eggnog more than I do.  I’ve never had wassail (what is it anyway?) and of course, love the hot chocolate with the little marshmallows.  🙂

4. Candy canes: do you like all the new-fangled flavors or are you a peppermint purist?

Just like there should never have been a Grinch remake, the peppermint candy cane cannot, in my opinion, be improved upon.  All the other flavors are a crass grab for the holiday buck.

5. Have you ever actually had figgy pudding? And is it really so good that people will refuse to leave until they are served it? 

Rockymountainsingalong
Never had it… I hear from the muppets it’s made with figs… and bacon.

