Haven’t you heard?  Tuesday is the new Friday…. to whit:

Friday Five: Countdown Edition

Please count down five living people you
admire and tell us a little something about why they make your list.
These could be famous people or people you know personally.

5…4…3…2…1

Sfive_1

Sarah Vowell:

…some days I carry
my sense of humor around like a picket sign. 

and,

Like

Lincoln

, I would like to
believe the ballot is stronger than the bullet. Then again, he said that before
he got shot.  The Partly Cloudy Patriot.


Four

Nevada Barr:

Since I cannot realistically seek Him in the afterlife or the cosmos, I will keep my eye out for Him in the neighborhood, try to be ever vigilant, assuming that everyone from the pizza delivery girl to the guy with the obnoxious all-terrain vehicle could be Him, or at least of Him.  I will cultivate blessings and grace in the dirt of my garden, the words of my friends, the eyes of my dogs.  Then, when I die, should I fail to sneak through those pearly gates, I shall at the very least, already have had a small taste of the love and joy said to abide there. Seeking Enlightenment Hat by Hat: A Skeptic’s Path to Religion

Three

Barbara Kingsolver:

I’d like to stake my pride on a nation that consistently inspires
rather than bullies, that brings unconditional generosity to the table,
and that dispenses justice over the inevitable bad deal with diplomacy
and humor rather than with more bad deals. If this were the humane face
we showed the world and the model we brought to working with it, every
time, I believe our children might eventually be able to manage with a
military budget the size of Iceland’s. 
Small Wonder

 

Standardblockrfstucco


Anne Lamott:

I heard Marianne Williamson
say once that when you ask God into your life, you think he or she is going to
come into your psychic house, look around, and see that you just need a little
cleaning – and so you go along for the first six months thinking how nice life
is now that God is there. Then you look
out the window one day and see that there’s a wrecking ball outside. It turns out that God actually thinks your
whole foundation is shot and you’re going to have to start over from scratch
. Bird by
Bird

Bigband

Annie Dillard:

If God does not cause everything that happens, does God cause
anything that happens? Is God completely out of the loop?

Sometimes
God moves loudly, as if spinning to another place like ball lightning. God is,
oddly, personal; this God knows. Sometimes en route, dazzlingly or dimly, he
shows and edge of himself to souls who seek him, and the people who bear those
souls, marveling, know it, and see the skies carousing around them, and watch
cells stream and multiply in green leaves. He does not give as the world gives;
he leads invisibly over many years, or he wallops for thirty seconds at a time.
He may touch a mind, too, making a loud sound, or a mind may feel the rim of
his mind as he nears. Such experiences are gifts to beginners. “Later on,” a
Hasid master said, “you don’t see these things anymore.” (Having seen, people
of varying cultures turn—for reasons unknown, and by a mechanism
unimaginable—to aiding and serving the afflicted and poor.)
 For The Time Being

 

