A Catholic Meme…  (it made the rounds a while ago, but I’ve been otherwise occupied.)

[A is for apparitions – your favorite]: Our Lady of Guadalupe who reminds that the poor are the first among us.

[B is for Bible – the one you read most often]: NRSV

[C
is for Charism – the one you would most like to have]: Assuming I have the one I need (the Dominican charism), I’m content.  Preaching in my life takes many forms, the most common one is of presence.  In the being with someone, I am sharing what I know is the Good News of God’s love.  Being with and being for another.

[D is for Doctor of the Church – your favorite]: St. Catherine of Siena.

[E is for Essential Prayer – What’s yours?]: "Glory to you, O, Lord." 

[F is for Favorite Hymn]: How Can I Keep from Singing

[G
is for Gospel – your favorite author?]: Gotta say John.  I love the mystery and the intimacy.

[H is for Holy Communion – How would you describe it, using one word?]: Grace

[I
is for Inspiration – When do you feel most inspired by God?]: In the natural world, with natural people, naturally.

[J
is for Jesus – When did you first meet Him?]: Long before I was born.  And I’m still meeting him each and every day.

[K is for Kindness – Which saint or person has most inspired you by their kindness?]: Dorothy Day, Oscar Romero. Thomas Merton.

[L is for liturgical year – your favorite time in the liturgical cycle?]: The Three Days.

[M
is for Mary, the Mother of God – Your favorite term of endearment for
her]: Mary.

[N is for New Testament – Your favorite passage]: "Say the Word, and I shall be healed."

[O is for Old Testament – Your favorite Book here]: The Book of the Prophet Jeremiah

[P is for Psalms – your favorite]: 121

[Q is for quote – saint quote]:

One of the most important – and most neglected- elements in
the beginnings of the interior life is the ability to respond to reality, to
see the value and the beauty in ordinary things, to come alive to the splendor
that is all around us in the creatures of God. We do not see these things because we have withdrawn from them. – Merton, Art and Spirituality, 425.

 

[R
is for rosary – your favorite mysteries]: The ones I pray before going to sleep.

[S is for Saint – the one you turn to in time of need – not including the Blessed Virgin Mary]: St. Anthony, o finder of lost things!

[T is for Tradition – your favorite Catholic tradition]: Though this changes over time, right now I love the seven altars of repose pilgrimage on Holy Thursday.

[U
is for university – Which Catholic University have you attended or are
currently attending?]: I’ve been a "public" for most of my life.  But have been a student at the Aquinas Institute of Theology in St. Louis as well as a M.A., Theology student at the Graduate Theological Union, in Berkeley, California.  At which institution I am ABT.

[V
is for Virtue – the one you wish you had]: Diligence (Latin, industria) (ethics, opposes sloth, Latin acedia) — A zealous and careful nature in one’s actions and work. Decisive work ethic. Acting energetically without excessive reflection.

[W
is for Way of the Cross – Which station can you most relate to?]: The 15th Station.

[X is for Xaverian Brothers – Do you know who
they are?]: Not so much.

[Y is for your favorite Catholic
musician]: Jaime Cortez and/or Hermana Glenda

[Z is for Zeal for the faith]: Rather Zeal for my God.

